personal

Coping with grief

As some of you are aware, I recently lost my grandmother who unfortunately died from multiple organ failure due to a Sepsis infection in her kidneys.

It has currently been ten days since she passed away in front of me and I have experienced a whole range of emotions during the last ten days.

I have experienced: anger, sadness, emptiness, guilt, frustration and irritability but the one thing that killed me the most was how empty I felt at the beginning – how I literally felt a part of me had died with her.

My grandmother was my best friend. I would visit occasionally, sometimes once or twice a week and we’d catch up on gossip and things. We have a Tuesday night tradition where I would go round, we’d watch Holby City together and then I’d leave to get the train home. Little things that although aren’t major, make me realise I would never have those moments back.

There is no right or wrong way to grieve. I’ve found that out. We all deal with things completely different and grieving is an example of that.

Whilst I am still going through the grieving process (a process I don’t think I will ever get over), I have discovered a few things that have helped me get through the last couple of days and I want to share these with you.

  • Talking to others – talking to other people about how you feel can help you acknowledge your feelings. You can talk to anyone, a friend, partner, work colleague. Everyone will be trying to support you during this difficult time.
  • Crying – crying is considered a healthy release of our feelings so do not be afraid to cry. Watch a sad movie, listen to a sad song, remember a certain event.
  • Stay busy – by staying occupied, you stop your mind from driving you insane. I have found by keeping myself busy with work, I have less time to think and dwell and make myself upset in the process.
  • Eat healthily – make healthy food choices. Whilst you may not feel hungry whilst you’re grieving do try and eat something, even if its small meals and snacks throughout the day rather than nothing.
  • Develop a sleeping pattern – my sleep was really effected for about 3 days just after my grandma had passed away. It is important that we stick to a sleep routine and go to sleep/wake up at the same time every day.

Whilst you are grieving for a loved one remember there is no right or wrong way to grieve. That individual has passed but they will always live on in our heart.

Passing Away Quotes Archives - Quotesnew Quotes About Passing Away

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

